Water Resources Program

MSC05 3110
1 University of New Mexico
Albuquerque, NM 87131-0001

Physical Location:
1915 Roma Avenue NE
Economics Building Room 1048

Phone: (505) 277-7759
Fax: (505) 277-5226


There are approximately 60 UNM continuing faculty members, or emeritus, who are affiliated with the Water Resources Program. They constitute a diverse group of individuals from six different schools or colleges with expertise in just about every aspect of water resources. The schools or colleges represented by the faculty are Arts and Sciences, Architecture and Planning, Engineering, Law, Medicine and the UNM Libraries. Affiliation with the program is on a voluntary basis and there are no specific selection criteria nor are there any specific responsibilities required (faculty who were members of the 2014-2017 Program Committee are indicated by an asterisk (*)).

Water Resources Program

John Fleck, Director of Water Resources Program
jfleck@inkstain.net; fleckj@unm.edu; 505 375-0184
Water resources governance; science communication

Mark Stone*, P.D., WR Associate Director and Associate Professor of Civil Engineering
505-277-0115, stone@unm.edu
Ph.D. Civil Engineering, Washington State University. Water resources, arid hydrology, hydraulics.


Rebecca Bixby*, Research Assistant Professor
505-277-3411, bbixby@unm.edu
Ph.D., Michigan. Aquatic ecology.

Clifford N. Dahm, Professor
505-277-2850, cdahm@sevilleta.unm.edu
Ph.D., Aquatic Ecology, Oregon State University. Aquatic ecology, stream/groundwater interactions, microbial ecology, nutrient cycling, microbial and chemical processes in volcanic environments.

Marcy Litvak, Associate Professor
505-277-5580, mlitvak@unm.edu
Ph.D., University of Colorado. Plant physiological ecology.

Kelly Miller, Associate Professor
505-277-2496, kbmiller@unm.edu

Bruce Milne*, Director, Sustainability Studies Program, Professor
505-277-5356, bmilne@sevilleta.unm.edu
Ph.D., Rutgers University. Botany and plant physiology.

Esteban Muldavin, Research Associate Professor, Division Leader, Natural Heritage NM
505 277-3882 muldavin@unm.edu
Ph.D., New Mexico State University. Conservation biology, community ecology, vegetation mapping.

Thomas Turner, Professor, Associate Dean, Arts and Sciences
505-277-7541, turnert@unm.edu
Ph.D., Florida International University Chemistry

Stephen E. Cabaniss, Professor and Dept. of Chemistry Chair
505-277-4445; cabaniss@unm.edu
Ph.D., University of North Carolina. Environmental chemistry, molecular spectroscopy, HPLC, stochastic and deterministic programming.

Chemical and Nuclear Engineering

Edward Blandford, Assistant Professor, Chemical Nuclear Engineering
505 277-5431, edb@unm.edu
Ph.D., Stanford. Risk assessment radwaste management

Robert Busch, Principal Lecturer
505 277-8027, busch@unm.edu
Ph.D., University of New Mexico, Criticality, Radwaste Management

Civil Engineering

Julia E. Allred Coonrod, P.E., Professor, Dean, Graduate Studies
505-277-6062, jcoonrod@unm.edu
Ph.D., Environmental and Water Resources, University of Texas at Austin. Water resources, GIS applications.

John C. Stormont, P.E., Professor
505-277-6063, jcstorm@unm.edu
Ph.D., Geological Engineering with minor in Civil Engineering, University of Arizona. Vadose zone hydrology, geotechnical engineering.

Kerry J. Howe, P.E., Associate Professor
505-277-2702, howe@unm.edu
Ph.D., Civil Engineering, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign. Environmental engineering, water treatment processes and design, membrane technologies.

Andrew Schuler, P.E., Associate Professor
505-277-4556, schuler@unm.edu
Ph.D. Civil Engineering, University of California, Berkeley. Environmental engineering, wastewater microbiology & wastewater treatment.

Mark Stone*, P.D., Assistant Professor
505-277-0115, stone@unm.edu
Ph.D. Civil Engineering, Washington State University. Water resources, arid hydrology, hydraulics.

Bruce M. Thomson, P.E., Regents' Professor, Emeritus, and Research Professor
505-277-4729, bthomson@unm.edu
Ph.D., Environmental Science and Engineering, Rice University. Environmental engineering, water management, chemistry and treatment.

Gonzalez-Pinzon, Ricardo, Assistant Professor
505 277-2621, gonzaric@unm.edu
Ph.D. Oregon State. Surface water quality modeling.

Cerrato Corrales, Jose Manuel, Assistant Professor
505 277-2722, jcerrato@unm.edu
Ph.D. Virginia Tech. Water chemistry, chemical treatment.

Communication and Journalism

Tema Milstein, Assistant Professor
505-277-5305, tema@unm.edu
Ph.D., Communication, University of Washington. Environmental communication, Cultural approaches to human relations with nature.

Community and Regional Planning

Claudia B. Isaac, Associate Professor
505-277-5939, cisaac@unm.edu
Ph.D., University of California-Los Angeles. Community and regional economic development, social theory, gender and development, Latin American studies.

Theodore Jojola, Professor
505-277-6428, tjojola@unm.edu
Ph.D., University of Hawaii. Community development, environmental design, indigenous rights, tribal economic development, microcomputer applications in education and planning.

James R. Richardson, Professor
505-277-6460, jrich@unm.edu
M.Arch./A.S., M.C.P., Massachusetts Institute of Technology. Land-use planning, community development, citizen participation, negotiation and environmental dispute resolution, urban design.

Jose A. Rivera, Research Scholar
505-277-2257, jrivera@unm.edu
Ph.D., Brandeis University. Social policy and planning, strategic management, and rural community development in a regional setting.

David S. Henkel, Jr., Professor Emeritus
505-277-5050, cymro@unm.edu
Ph.D., Cornell University. Cultural aspects of community development, natural resources and regional planning.

William M. Fleming, Associate Professor
505-277-6455, fleming@unm.edu
Ph.D., University of British Columbia. Watershed management, impacts of land use on water quality.

Caroline Scruggs*, Assistant Professor
505-277-5050, cscruggs@unm.edu
Ph.D. Stanford University. Environmental planning.

Earth and Planetary Sciences

Abdulmehdi Ali, Senior Research Scientist I
505-277-1637, mehdiali@unm.edu
Ph.D. Chemistry, University of Arizona. Water chemistry, analytical methods.

Yemane Asmerom, Professor
505-277-4434, asmerom@unm.edu
Ph.D., Geochemistry, University of Arizona. Applications of radiogenic isotopes (U-Series, NdSr-Pb-Hf) to the study of the solid earth, oceans and climate through time.

Laura J. Crossey, Professor
505-277-5349, lcrossey@unm.edu
Ph.D., Geochemistry, University of Wyoming. Clastic diagenesis and organic geochemistry, with emphasis on interaction of organic and inorganic constituents of sedimentary rocks during progressive burial, and diagenetic model development.

Peter J. Fawcett, Associate Professor
505-277-3867, fawcett@unm.edu
Ph.D., Paleoclimatology and Sedimentology, Pennsylvania State University. Long-term evolution of the climate system and patterns of past global change, quaternary paleoclimatology, and climatic influences on sedimentation.

Joseph Galewsky, Associate Professor
505-277-2361, galewsky@unm.edu
Ph.D., University of California - Santa Cruz. Interactions between meteorological and land surface processes, climate dynamics, orographic precipitation.

David S. Gutzler*, Professor
505-277-3328, gutzler@unm.edu
Ph.D., Climatology and Meteorology, Massachusetts Institute of Technology. Data analysis and modeling of interactions between the atmosphere, ocean, and land surfaces and climatic variability of Southwestern North America.

Grant A. Meyer, Professor
505-277-5384, gmeyer@unm.edu
Ph.D., Earth and Planetary Sciences, University of New Mexico. Hillslopes and fluvial systems; climatic, tectonic and environmental geomorphology; Quaternary geology and ecosystem processes.

Leslie D. McFadden, Professor
505-277-6121, lmcfadnm@unm.edu
Ph.D., Quaternary Geology, University of Arizona. Soil development in arid and semiarid regions; applications of soil studies to geomorphology, paleoclimate, environmental research, and geohazard evaluation.

Louis A. Scuderi, Professor
505-277-2644, tree@unm.edu
Ph.D., Geography, University of California-Los Angeles. Paleoclimatic reconstructions utilizing dendrochronology, climatology, geographic Information Systems (GIS), image processing, global positioning systems (GPS), creation and analysis of historical and paleoclimatic databases.

Gary A. Smith, Professor
505-277-2348, gsmith@unm.edu
Ph.D., Sedimentology and Physical Volcanology, Oregon State University. Sedimentology related to rift tectonics, aquifer heterogeneity, and volcanism, physical volcanology of pyroclastic deposits and composite volcanoes.

Zachary D. Sharp, Professor
505-277-2000, zsharp@unm.edu
Ph.D., University of Michigan. Stable isotope geochemistry, with application to paleoclimate reconstruction, metamorphic and igneous petrology and structural geology.

Gary Weissmann, Professor
505- 277-3636 weissman@unm.edu
Ph.D., University of California, Davis. Hydrogeology, sedimentology, and basin analysis. Research focuses on a basin analysis approach to characterizing and modeling groundwater flow and contaminant transport.

John W. Shomaker, Adjunct Professor
505-345-3407, jshomaker@shomaker.com
Ph.D., University of Birmingham (England). Hydrogeology, water resources planning and management.


Robert Berrens, Professor
rberrens@unm.edu, http://econ.unm.edu/people/Faculty/profile/robert-berrens.html
Ph.D., Agricultural and Resource Economics, Oregon State University. Environmental economics, nonmarket valuation, sustainability and ecological economics, environmental equity, institutional economics, riverine and public lands management, survey research, wildfire and watersheds.

David S. Brookshire, Distinguished Professor Emeritus, and Research Professor
505-277-1964, brookshi@unm.edu
Ph.D., Economics, University of New Mexico. Environmental and resource economics, policy issues associated with endangered species, natural hazards and water resources.

Janie Chermak, Professor and Chairperson
505-277-4906, jchermak@unm.edu
Ph.D., Mineral Economics, Colorado School of Mines. Environmental economics and natural resources, applied microeconomics, empirical testing of the theory of exhaustible resources, exhaustible resource production.

Catherine (Kate) Krause, Dean, University College, Professor
505-277-3429, kkrause@unm.edu
Ph.D., Economics, University of Wisconsin. Public finance, law and economics, experimental and behavioral economics, economic learning and behavior in children, economic issues for children and families, law and economics, sustainable resource use.

Jennifer Thacher, Associate Professor
505-277-1965, jthacher@unm.edu
Ph.D., Economics, University of Colorado, Boulder. Environmental economics, invasive species and water.

F. Lee Brown, Professor Emeritus
505-277-1092, flbrown@unm.edu
Ph.D., Economics, Purdue University, Water resources economics, planning, and management.

Jingjing Wang, Assistant Professor
505-277-2035, wangj@unm.edu
Ph.d., Environmental and Resource Economics, University of California-Riverside. Environmental and agricultural economics, water resource economics, computational modeling

Family & Community Medicine (Public Health)

Kristine Tollestrup, Associate Professor
505-272-9555, ktollestrup@salud.unm.edu
Ph.D., University of California, Berkeley. Public health, epidemiology

Floyd Frost, Research Assistant Professor
505-348-8776, ffrost@salud.unm.edu


O. Paul Matthews, Professor Emeritus
505-277-2607, opmatt@unm.edu
Ph.D., Geography, University of Washington. Water resources management, water law, Federalstate relations.

Melinda Benson*, Associate Professor
505-277-5041, mhbenson@unm.edu
J.D., University of Idaho College of Law. Environmental management.

Paul Zandbergen, Associate Professor
505-277-3105, zandberg@unm.edu
Ph.D., University of British Columbia, Geographic information systems.


Marilyn O'Leary, Visiting Research Professor
Utton Transboundary Resources Center, UNM School of Law
505-277-1767, moleary1@unm.edu

Reed Benson*, Professor
505-277-2146, rdbenson@unm.edu
J.D. University of Michigan. Water Law.

Adrian Ogelsby, Director
Utton Transboundary Resources Center, UNM School of Law
505 277-1946, oglesby@unm.edu

Public Administration

Santa Falcone, Professor 505-277-4934, falcone@unm.edu
Ph.D., Syracuse University. Administrative behavior, science policy and administrative and environmental issues.

Mario A. Rivera, Professor 505-277-3312, marivera@unm.edu
Ph.D., University of Notre Dame. Program policy evaluation, and comparative public management systems.